Dear Baby #5

36 Weeks

Dear baby,

3 weeks and 3 days until your due date!  Right now I am always thinking about when you will come.  Will it be before April 2? A few days later?  Will you be born in March, perhaps?  For the rest of my life I will think of that day a little differently because it will be your birthday.  I am excited for that day, but I am also getting a little anxious, too.

We had our shower about a few weeks ago.  Our dear friend Jen and your Aunt Kate hosted it for us.  It was the perfect day and all of the people who will love you so much were there.  You are going to be so special to so many people, friends and family near and far.

We go to the doctor once a week now.  They do an ultrasound to check and make sure you have enough fluid, and then they hook me up to the monitor for 20 minutes to see how much you’re moving around.  They are checking to see if you are ‘reactive’ and boy you are!  You have been so cooperative so far, wiggling around as if to say, I’m here and I’m happy!  This week when we went you had the hiccups, so we watched my belly twitch every few seconds as the hiccup shook your little body.  I’ve felt hiccups a couple other times, too.  I wonder what your little brain is thinking when that happens?  It seems to make you twitch and kick a lot, so maybe you don’t like it and want it to stop.  Or maybe you like the sensation of being jostled around in there.  I guess I’ll never know!

I feel you wiggling around in my belly all the time now.  I always want to remember the feeling of your little bottom pressing out on my belly as if you want to crack me open like an egg and crawl out!  Or during Pure Barre, after lots of ab work, your little feet are pressed up against my ribs and I can’t bend at all.  I love putting your dad’s hand on my belly, watching him smile in amusement as you press out as if to say hello.  He says it’s a little creepy- cool, but creepy- to feel you moving inside me.  He doesn’t want to squeeze me too tight when he hugs me so he doesn’t squish you.

I can’t believe it’s getting to be the end of this time we have had together.  I actually have loved carrying you around in my belly and feeling you grow.  I didn’t think I would enjoy pregnancy so much, but I have.  This has been such a wonderful experience, I can’t imagine how wonderful it will be when we finally meet you.

I hope I can continue to do this as you get older, so we remember the special moments of the life we are building as a family.  We love you already, our baby boy.  Your dad and I can’t wait to hold you and tell you that in person.

Love,

Your mom

Leave a Reply

